The Physical Fitness Test (PFT) for students in California schools is the FITNESSGRAM®. The main goal of the test is to help students in starting life-long habits of regular physical activity. The FITNESSGRAM has two or three test options for most of the fitness areas of the test. 


Students in grades five, seven, and nine are required to take the fitness test, whether they are enrolled in a physical education class or not. The test has five parts that show a level of fitness that offer a degree of defense against diseases that come from inactivity. 


The FITNESSGRAM® is composed of the following six fitness areas, with a number of test options provided for most areas:

  1. Aerobic Capacity
  2. Abdominal Strength and Endurance
  3. Upper Body Strength and Endurance
  4. Trunk Extensor Strength and Flexibility
  5. Flexibility


Further information can be found at:

A Parents Guide to Understanding the PFT

PFT Assessment Fact Sheet


To view our latest summary results:  PFT summary results

  1. Level: school
  2. Subject: Physical Fitness Test (PFT) under Assessment Data
  3. [SUBMIT]